Phone: +254204040300 Email:
Improve Education
marginalized communities
For Fostering Partnership
Driving Growth

Recipients of the 2023 TEPAD Secondary School Academic Scholarship

Terik Essential Programs Agency for Development, Kenya (TEPAD Kenya), resumed its secondary school scholarship program this year in February 2023. The scholarship scheme continues to target students from public primary schools from Terik Ward who score high marks in the Kenya Certificate of Primary Education (KCPE) . Students from member schools (Chepkurgung, Gambogi, Kapko, Kapsengere, Kipchemwon, Soi,), who sit for KCPE every year are pooled and the students who scored the highest mark are awarded the full four year secondary school scholarship. Sponsorship is based on recommendation by headteachers of the participating schools. Since the beginning of the secondary school scholarship program, a total of 8 students have been awarded scholarships to cover their secondary education.

The current funding for scholarship recipients is spearheaded by two former recipients of the President’s Award for Mentoring International Leadership Excellence Through Sports (MILES) scholarship for post-secondary education at the University of Manitoba in Canada. As a way of giving back to the community after completing their post-secondary studies in Canada, Abraham Kimutai and Faith Jelagat both from Terik who are previous recipients of the MILES scholarship are overseeing the collection of funds to support the TEPAD secondary school academic scholarship program.

This year’s secondary school scholarship recipients are Valary Jepngetich from Chepkurgung, School who is now attending Gitagwa Secondary School and Pheizar Kiplagat from Kapsengere Primary School who is now attending Dago Secondary School. The Terik community would like to congratulate this year’s scholarship recipients!

For a list of previous recipients, click here

About the author